Birthdays

When I turned 1, I tried chocolate cake for the first time and boy did it look good on me.

When I turned 3, I was no longer the youngest in the family thanks to my little sister.

When I turned 6, I finally had a little brother.

When I turned 10, I was finally in double digits and on my way to being a big boy.

When I turned 13, I was finally a teenager. I felt invincible.

When I turned 17, I got my drivers license and the open road began to beckon.

When I turned 18, I could legally drink at my college.

When I turned 19, I could finally legally drink in my hometown bar and they didn’t even card me.

When I turned 21, I could legally drink everywhere and I set off to prove it.

When I turned 25, I could finally legally rent a car but I didn’t know that at the time. I don’t remember much of that year.

When I turned 29, I spent my birthday alone on a train.

When I turned 30, I went to dinner with the woman I would spend the rest of my life with and I knew it.

When I turned 33, I was a very happy newlywed.

When I turned 36, I was a new father by six days. I was in awe of the miracle in my arms

When I turned 38, I found that I was the father of not one but two beautiful little girls.

When I turned 40, I didn’t want to be fat so my wife & daughters gave me an ice cream machine.

When I turned 44, I realized that my nine month old son was going to be in the Class of 2024 and that I was going to be an old Dad.

When I turned 48, my Mom came up to our house to give me my presents and to eat a popsicle with my kids.

And today I turn 49 and today is the first time in my life that I am celebrating my birthday without my Mom. She left us all too soon and I miss her very much. I love you Mom.

3 Comments

Filed under blogging

3 responses to “Birthdays

  1. CameSawShopped

    Sweet and funny and poignant!

  2. Adorable Doug ~ lo siento para su madre

  3. So sweet, Doug. Happy Birthday! I’m 49, too. Always enjoy your posts.

Leave a Reply

