Mixing Up Some Haystacks

Like most people, I like to get free stuff. I won’t stand in line for a sample at Costco but I will cross the street in NYC if I see someone giving away free samples of a new or interesting product. It’s even better when a company sends me some free stuff in the mail. Not everything is a winner (trust me, there is no joy in a SoyJoy Bar) but not everything is terrible either. This is part one of a quick two part story (still have to do part two) about the latest free stuff that was sent to me.

I came home the other night to find not one but two boxes of Fiber One Original Cereal by General Mills with the instructions to make the Chocolate Peanut Butter Haystacks recipe on the back of the box (part 1) and then to make an original recipe of my own creative design using the cereal (part 2). That didn’t seem so tough I thought as I read the recipe. It was chocolate chips, peanut butter & Fiber One. Melt it. Mix it. Chill it. Serve it. Eat it.

Then I opened the box. I am sure that Fiber One Original Cereal is a very healthy & effective product but it is not exactly the most aesthetically pleasing product to look at. Maybe it would help if it had a bit more of an O shape to it. Anyway it is what it is and I set off to see how the other All Stars had handled this assignment to date. The reviews were mixed but the one thing that kept coming through to me was that the Fiber One had a texture with the chocolate that while not unpleasing, was not exactly all that well liked. I also saw that some of the others had switched up the recipe by adding white chocolate chips or pretzels or raisins with a varying degree of success. It was then that I decided to go for a mirror image of the recipe. Instead of Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips & Peanut Butter, I was going to use Peanut Butter Chips & Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter.

Twelve ounces of Peanut Butter Chips and a half cup of Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter were quickly melted and a pouch of Fiber One (there are two bags in each box) was stirred in. Again, not the most aesthetically pleasing dish to look at but it handled well and I spooned out about 3 to 4 dozen haystacks onto the wax paper to set up. I did give them a little help by putting them in our basement fridge to chill for a couple of hours before serving them.

That night after dinner, I brought them upstairs as an added dessert surprise and the kids attacked them. They really liked how the heavier peanut butter flavor helped mask a little the grainy texture of the Fiber One Original Cereal and I agreed with them completely. While I probably won’t make them again, I have enjoyed snacking on the leftovers when no one is looking.

So come back next time when I discuss Part 2 of this two part story and try to make up an original recipe using Fiber One Original Cereal that hasn’t already been done by somebody else.

I am an Allrecipes All Star Brand Ambassador(a voluntary position) and I’m not compensated for my work with Allrecipes.com. Products received from advertiser are only used for experienced-based reviews on Swampy’s Kitchen & Behind The Shades. The reviews, content and opinions expressed in this blog are purely the sole opinions of Doug Matthews.

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging

Leave a Reply

