Still Slicing My Apples…for now

(Part 3 in an ongoing saga)

It’s been a while since I last gave my handful of readers an update on my quest to once again be able to take a bite out of a crisp ripe apple. There really hasn’t been all that much to report other than I got a new & improved upper denture that looked and felt more like real teeth while I waited for the bone grafts to take from the surgery I had back in June. Well that all changed this week when the results of my oral CAT SCAN came back and I had a chance to sit down with my doctor.

As I was driving over to my appointment, it really hit me that I was about to find out whether I was going to be able to move on with my plans for full permanent implants or if I was going to be stuck in a denture for the rest of my life. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t really hate my denture but, well, actually I do. While it’s infinitely better than the broken teeth they replaced, it’s just not the favorite part of my daily routine (along with taking my heart medicine for my pre-hypertension but that is another blog that for once has actually already been written). I would do just about anything to move on with this phase in my life.

The doctor saw me right away and we started to look & review the 3D quality CAT SCAN of my mouth and the news was good. The bone grafts did take and I now had enough meaningful & useful bone structure to be able to try for the six implants that would lead eventually to twelve teeth on my uppers. My denture currently has fourteen teeth but I promise if you don’t go looking for the missing back two teeth, I won’t show you where they were supposed to be. If for some reason the two tilt implants in the back don’t hold, I’ll either have to have nine months of bone grafts in my sinuses in order to get the posts to hold or I will need to move on to a less secure snap in denture which is still better than the “floating” poli-grip denture I have now. I think you all know which way I am hoping I am headed. The surgery will be scheduled for the end of March or early April and then it will mean another four to five months of the soft food diet I have been on for most of the past year anyway. Once we finish up with the uppers, we start all over again on the lowers but it won’t take as long since cosmetics are not as important when it comes to teeth you can’t really see. And trust me, it’s a price I will gladly pay.

So for now, I’m still slicing my apples but I can sort of see the light at the end of the tunnel that leads back to that first big bite of a crisp ripe apple.

Part 1 – https://swampynomo.wordpress.com/2012/04/19/to-bite-an-apple-again/

Part 2 – https://swampynomo.wordpress.com/2012/09/28/to-bite-into-an-apple-again-part-2/

2 Comments

Filed under blogging

2 responses to “Still Slicing My Apples…for now

  1. OpinionsToGo

    My goodness, you are a very patient, patient. I’m certain the results will be wonderful. As Rudyard Kipling wrote, “You’re a better man than I am Gunga Din!”

Leave a Reply

