My First Allrecipes Download – March 6, 2000

When I opened the refrigerator this morning to get the Fat Free Half & Half for my coffee (I know, it’s terrible but I am back on my DIE-t) I noticed that my wife had an open quart of Buttermilk in the door. Luckily I noticed it before I poured it in my coffee but it did get me wondering, what did my wife make recently that needed Buttermilk ? And that, of course, got me to thinking about what I could make using Buttermilk. That, in turn, made me think of the first recipe I ever downloaded** to my Allrecipes Recipe Box back on March 6, 2000. It was Basil, Roasted Peppers & Monterey Jack Cornbread and it is still one of my favorite recipes on this site.

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/basil-roasted-peppers-and-monterey-jack-cornbread/detail.aspx

I don’t know how many times over the years I have made this recipe as a side dish or for a potluck. One year I made the recipe as Muffins for my Super Duper Bowl Extravaganza and that is probably my favorite way to make them now. I did learn early on that unlike traditional cornbread, you shouldn’t leave it out for days at a time after you make it as the melted cheese in the bread will go very bad. All in all it is great cornbread that can carry the extra flavors. It does very well as a side for any grilled meat in my opinion.

If you haven’t tried this recipe yourself, I strongly suggest that you do. It’s been in my arsenal for the past 14 years and since I thought about it in a random sort of way this morning, I thought I would share it with all of you.

I also want to thank STEPHANIE, whoever you are, for submitting this recipe all those years ago.

Have a great weekend and happy baking.

** – technically the first recipe I printed/downloaded from Allrecipes was from their pre-cursor, cookierecipe.com, and it was for Snickerdoodles. That particular recipe, provided by the staff at cookierecipe, is no longer available on AR but I still have the printout from 1998 saved in a file folder at home and electronically as a PDF.

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging

Leave a Reply

