Too Much Pumpkin ? #NomoPumpkin

When I was growing up you did two things with pumpkins. You carved them and you made pumpkin pie. Of course, we also had to walk uphill barefoot through the snow just to manually change the channels on the TV but that is neither here nor there. Suffice to say, it was a much simpler time. Nowadays the culinary world has embraced the humble pumpkin and has been slowly, some would even say invasively, incorporating pumpkin as an ingredient into all aspects the food world. It was after I saw a review last week for Pumpkin Spice Tortilla Chips, which made me wonder if you scoop them through Pumpkin Guacamole, if maybe there weren’t too many pumpkin items out there.

Starting in early September I started to hear people talking about the return of the Pumpkin Spice Latte (available only for a limited time over the next 3 to 4 months). They spoke of it in hushed reverence. I tried to ignore the whispers as September is, while a gateway to Fall, the month that tries to hang on to the last vestiges of summer. Pumpkins seem intrusive during those final weekends at the beach, yet there they are. I started to see Pumpkin Spice Risotto & Pumpkin Spice Ravioli popping up on menus. Pumpkin Spice Soup was soon to follow and then Pumpkin Spice Chili. Pumpkin Spice Muffins & Pumpkin Spice Bagels were next. Did I really see a brunch option of Pumpkin Spice Filled French Toast and Baby Back Ribs in a Pumpkin Spice Barbecue Sauce ? I was beginning to suffer from Pumpkin Overload and it wasn’t even October yet. I was beginning to wonder how I was going to make it to Halloween at this pace. I hadn’t even started making the countless loaves of Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread that I make every Fall.

So I went to the store to buy some plain cans of pumpkin and got assaulted with Pumpkin Spice Beer, Pumpkin Spice Ale, Pumpkin Spice Oreos, Pumpkin Spice Pasta, Pumpkin Spice Lollipops, Pumpkin Spice Whipped Topping, Pumpkin Spice Cream Cheese & Pumpkin Spice Ice Cream. I kept my back to the Yogurt section because Pumpkin Spice Greek Yogurt was just going to upset me. After trying the White Chocolate Candy Corn M&M’s last week I shuddered to think that Pumpkin Spice M&M’s could actually be lurking in the candy aisle.

So what are thoughts on the Pumpkin Craze ? Do you crave more pumpkin products or are you like me in thinking that just maybe there is too any pumpkin products ? Let me know, I am sure there more pumpkin delicacies & pumpkin disasters out there like Pumpkin Spice Truffles & Pumpkin Spice Carpaccio that I have tried not to hear about or don’t want to know about that I hope you will share with me.

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging

Leave a Reply

